The Calm Before the Storm

“Don’t exist. Live. Get out, explore. Thrive. Challenge authority. Challenge yourself. Evolve. Change forever. Become who you say you always will. Keep moving. Don’t stop.” -Brian Krans

Saturday- The forecast read: 80 degrees, sunny and pleasant. Myself and seven of my friends quickly decided to take full advantage of the nice weather and go sandboarding for the day. Around 2:00pm we were picked up at our home in Rondebosch to drive about forty five minutes to the Atlantis Sand Dunes. When we arrived at the dunes we met our instructor Andre and about ten other people that would be sandboarding with us. I quickly grabbed a board and climbed up one of the dunes, anxious to start. Andre took us through the basics of how to wax your board, strap your feet in and the techniques of sandboarding. I expected sandboarding to be quite similar to snowboarding but I soon realized it was much different. Although the boards looked alike in design, sandboarding requires one to similar go straight down the dune without cutting any edges as you would when snowboarding. Luckily my snowboading experience gave me a leg up anyway. I actually never even fell until my last run of the two hour session- when I was simply sledding down the dune on my board. Embarrassing, I know. Despite my friends’ minor injuries, the day was wonderful. The dunes were vast and seemed untouched despite our presence. We headed home hungry and sandy- so first came showering and then came eating. After a nice meal at Down South, a restaurant just a two blocks from our house, we went to bed to get some much needed rest.

Me sandboarding

Me sandboarding

Tali and I jumping for joy

Tali and I jumping for joy

Sunday- In my eyes, a perfect Sunday consists of laying in bed on my laptop and venturing to the farmer’s market after brunch. I did both all these things yesterday. SCORE. At 10:00am I went to Chart Farm with some friends of mine. There, we ate brunch overlooking the Constantia Valley, picked flowers in the rose garden and bought local vegetables. I had no idea that yet another  spectacular view is only a ten minute drive from my house. The neighborhood surrounding the farm is extremely wealthy and was quite unknown to my friends and I until yesterday. While walking around the rose garden I began to miss my mother, knowing that with her green thumb, she would love Chart Farm. I picked six different roses for myself, varying in both color and smell. I also treated myself to some fresh spinach, spaghetti squash and homemade ginger beer that were being sold at the farm stand. If you know me well, you know that ginger is one of my many weaknesses. So I was clearly delighted to learn that ginger beer is a popular non-alcoholic drink in Cape Town. Ginger beer is much different from ginger ale as it literally tastes like carbonated fresh and flavorful ginger rather than a lightly ginger flavored soda. The rest of my day was spent online watching dance video after dance video with my friend Alyssa. She too, is a dancer like myself and with our extra internet allotted for the month of April, we found it quite fitting to spend some time on youtube. Hip Hop Collabo, the dance group I am a member of at Clark, just had their spring semester show this weekend. Needless to say, most of the dance videos were of HHC performing. Seeing my teammates dance made me miss them more than ever and wish I was a part of their wonderful 10th anniversary show. I cannot express how proud I am of their many accomplishments this semester and clear growth as dancers. Although I have loved being abroad, I am truly looking forward to coming home and dancing with my Hip Hop Collabo family. Nevertheless, Sunday was a lovely relaxing day- just as my daily horoscope said it would be.

Chart Farm

Chart Farm

Picking roses in the garden

Picking roses in the garden

This week- This week is full of assignments, tasks and overall stress! Wednesday is a national holiday in South Africa called Workers Day, and instead of lounging around with no classes, I am participating in a 5K run with some of my friends. Mind you, I get horrible shin splints and although I enjoy working out- running is not my favorite activity. Despite this, the run is located in a beautiful area near Stellenbosch so I definitely can’t complain about the view. Anyway, I could go on forever about all I have to do in such little time but I think I should quite while I am ahead and end on a positive note!

 

One comment

  1. kirisyko · · Reply

    Reblogged this on Sykose.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

